Day 23 of 100: We move West

Today’s experiment: Western blot on my mouse protein samples

Result:

IMAG0800-1

Troubleshooting time!

I have 3 bands, and I expected the 3rd one to be noticeably thicker/darker than the other two, but this doesn’t seem to be the case. Which can mean one of two things:

1) My protein of interest isn’t actually expressed at a higher level in the 3rd group, but I don’t think this is the case based on the DNA data in the graph from Day 16 and Day 11 on this blog…

or

2) The antibody I’m using in the Western blot isn’t so good.

I’m going to go with #2 because it makes this project straightforward and I don’t have to ask the question of “so then what IS happening??” So I’ve ordered another antibody and hopefully that one will be a little more friendly.

Leave a Reply

