Day 35 of 100: Things I’ve learned from my mom

Snoopy-Happy-Dance

I think this Snoopy pretty much sums up my mom’s quirkiness and fun-loving silliness. And she loves everything Snoopy.

In honor of Mother’s Day, this week’s day-of-rest post will be dedicated to 10 things (of many others, of course) I’ve learned from my mom, in no particular order.

1) Actions speak louder than words. Always. My mom’s not one to lecture your ear off, but my mom has a tangible effect on the people around her. She has exceptional patience, fantastic listening skills, and an amazingly calming presence. She loves everyone and loves wholeheartedly. Parents, if you want to teach your kids to love, you are their best model.

2) Complaining and gossiping get you nowhere. Yes, my mom does get frustrated, and she will occasionally voice those frustrations. But she doesn’t dwell on them. She doesn’t let little or big issues derail her. She gets things done because she doesn’t need to tell everyone how obnoxious dealing with insurance is. Be flexible, do the little things joyfully, be prepared to host a large number of people at a moment’s notice.

Seriously, props for dealing with insurance.

3) Immersing yourself in God’s word is a really good way to live. I used to catch my mom reading her Bible and praying in the morning. The unmistakable voice of Joyce Meyer’s sermons fills the house whenever she’s cooking or cleaning. When I started teaching Sunday School and volunteering with the youth I asked her if she had any books on spiritual leadership that might help me get a better idea of how to lead and teach well. She gave me like 10. Living out God’s word becomes a lot easier when you’re filling your mind with it.

4) Food is a universal love language. My mom would always send me to school with baked goodies for my friends on my birthday, would come armed with food to all my sporting events for the members of my team, and always asks if I want to take home 85 degree C pastries or some lasagna every time I visit my parents.

5) Don’t do things half-way. My mom made sure to wear blue and orange clothes to my Pomona-Pitzer swimming and water polo events, and even got a bright orange blanket for those cold days. We once held all 17 or so members of the water polo team in my parents’ little home, and my parents contacted all their friends to borrow inflatable mattresses, sheets, sleeping bags, pillows, etc, and made enough food for everyone. And made sure we had vegetarian options. I could write for a long time about this.

6) The value of thank-you notes cannot be underestimated. Only my mom may understand how hard it is for me to admit this.

7) For sanity, lead a balanced lifestyle. My mom is currently empty nesting, and so spends her time knitting, reading, taking care of older family members, taking trips with my dad, going to the gym, getting involved at church, hosting my brother and me + friends on a moment’s notice, etc.

8) Beauty comes from within, not come from fancy dress, perfect makeup, or being thin. Hah, I rhyme. My mom looks stunning wearing her welcoming smile and acts of love.

9) Love your quirkiness. My mom added a C3PO keychain to my car keys and was excited because pressing C3PO’s tummy makes his feet light up. She’s the best.

10) Mother knows (the kitchen) best. Don’t get in the way of my mom in the kitchen. Also, the day she asked me to make a dessert for a family gathering was a very formative day in my adult life.

I love you Mom ❤

One thought on “Day 35 of 100: Things I’ve learned from my mom

  1. Susan T says:

    I am touched by your generous and likely science-fictional tribute! My plan is always to lead with my strengths to make up for my weaknesses!

    Like

Leave a Reply

