Day 62 of 100: Stone fruit lassi

Today’s experiment: Stone fruit lassi, based on a recipe for peach lassi.

Result:

20150609_082358

Ever since I discovered that blending together equal parts strawberries and frozen banana chunks plus an arbitrary amount of any kind of milk and any green (I’ve added collard greens, spinach, kale…) yields a really fantastic smoothie and is a perfect way to eat those greens you really aren’t a fan of. I.e. kale, I’ve been experimenting a lot with smoothies. I tried one a while ago that added kale to a smoothie with frozen bananas, oranges, and a little bit of ginger, which turned out super pulpy and not to my taste, didn’t know what I expected there.

So I got a whole bunch of stone fruit in my Abundant Harvest box, and I’m trying to get a little creative with them. Here’s my 1-serving recipe for stone fruit lassi (don’t know what “lassi” means or where it came from):

1 stone fruit
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup peach yogurt
pinch of salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg

Supa simple! It was okay, I may next time decide to add another stone fruit, as it tasted mostly like peach yogurt and buttermilk. I suppose you can’t go wrong adding more fruit. But also, this is a great way to use up buttermilk that you bought because you wanted to make pancakes, but now you have 3/4 of a carton of buttermilk left and you don’t know what to do with it…

This happens with a relative frequency at my house.

Leave a Reply

