Day 78 of 100: Honey lemon green tea for sick days

Today’s experiment: Honey Lemon Green Tea

Result:

20150630_214645-1

Yes, today is Monday. Unfortunately, I don’t have an experiment for you all because I’m starting a 2-day Western blot, so I’ll have an experiment tomorrow.

The last couple days I’ve been feeling a little sicky, and when I started feeling the sore throat and fatigue that’s pretty typical of early-stage colds for me, I went to Four Leaf, a cafe in Little Tokyo, with a friend of mine and ordered their honey lemon green tea.

Gosh I felt fantastic afterwards.

So the last few days I’ve been experimenting a bit with this tea, turns out you don’t need that much experimenting to do this one well, but the first time I made it I put too much lemon and not enough honey and it was far too acidic. Here’s my optimized recipe!

Honey Lemon Green Tea
1 bag green tea
1/4 lemon
1 tbs honey, or to taste

Boil some water, brew yourself a mug of green tea. Squeeze the 1/4 lemon into the tea and add honey, mix it all up.

I’ve heard that honey lemon ginger tea is also a good cold remedy, but I generally don’t like the burning feeling from ginger, so this is a good one for me.

Pretty simple! Curl up with a book or video game and your honey lemon green tea and get well soon, friends.

Leave a Reply

